One of the best ice hockey tournaments in Europe - ever
2010-06-03 15:00:00
Eighteen top clubs from seven countries are participating in the first European Trophy, a pre season ice hockey tournament with 84 games in August and a playoff in Red Bulls Salute in Salzburg 3-5 September. - This is without a doubt a very competitive tournament, says European Trophy tournament director Bo Lennartsson. During the last two days, the clubs have met in Gothenburg to discuss the upcoming tournament. The tournament is divided into two divisions, Central and Capital, and the first games are play August 11:th. – The European Trophy is a natural development of the Nordic Trophy tournament, that included twelve Swedish and Finnish clubs, said Lennartsson about the new tournament, which includes 18 clubs from seven countries. The group stage consists of nine rounds, followed by a playoff in Red Bulls Salute in Salzburg and Zell am See on September 3-5. – Red Bulls Salute has proven to be one of the best ice hockey tournaments during its five year history and we are very proud to cooperate with the hosts of the tournament for our European Trophy playoffs, says Lennartsson. During the two days in Gothenburg, the clubs have discussed the marketing of the tournament as well sport issues. – We’re confident that we can deliver a really good product to European ice hockey fans, says Lennartsson, who has lead the Gothenburg meeting along with Frölunda’s club manager, Mats Ahdrian. After not participating last year, the Finnish clubs are back in the tournament. – It feels good to be back. We believe that European Trophy will increase the interest for the start of the Finnish SM-liiga, says Mikko Leinonen, Tappara’s club manager. There has been great interest shown from European ice hockey clubs and four national champions participate in the tournament. – European Trophy is a important part of our preparation for next season and a fantastic opportunity to play good competitive games during the pre season, says Sven Leuenberger, sport manager at SC Bern, the club in Europe with the highest average attendance. The meeting in Gothenburg was held in good spirit, and all of the participating clubs showed great optimism and confidence for the upcoming tournament. – The new clubs have shown great interest in the tournament and we’re getting indications that they are planning good game arrangements and a strong tournament, says Mats Ahdrian. Eighteen clubs participated in the meeting: Adler Mannheim and Eisbären Berlin from Germany, IFK Helsingfors, Jokerit, Kärpät, TPS and Tappara from Finland, Bern and Zürich from Switzerland, Sparta Prague and Tjeckien, Red Bull from Austria, Vålerenga from Norway and the Swedish clubs Frölunda Indians, Färjestad BK, Djurgårdens IF, Linköpings HC, HV 71 and Malmö Redhawks.
A legacy that will live on
After four years of steady growt and building the brand of clubhockey in Europe, it is time för the European Trophy to take the next step, the Champions Hockey League.
Read more
JYP from Finland hanged on in the Red Bulls Salute final against Swedish opponent Färjestad BK and grabbed the title with a 2-1 win!
Read more
Eisbären defeat Frölunda Indians 4-3
Hosts Eisbären Berlin did not make the Red Bulls Salute final in their home arena, but finished the tournament with a 4-3-win over Frölunda Indians.
Read more
Luleå Hockey defeat Djurgårdens IF 4-2
Luleå Hockey ended their participation in the 2013 Red Bulls Salute with a win, defeating Djurgårdens IF thanks to an efficient power play.
Read more
Färjestad BK defeat Eisbären 4-0
The final in Red Bulls Salute 2013 will have JYP facing last year's runner-up Färjestad BK, after Färjestad defeated host Eisbären Berlin 4-0.
Read more
1. Luleå Hockey8611221419
2. EC Red Bull Salzburg8413262314
3. HC Škoda Plzeň8332171713
4. HC Kometa Brno8233201912
5. Oulun Kärpät8404192112
6. Hamburg Freezers8314282710
7. Eisbären Berlin8314212510
8. Mountfield HK820620276
1. Djurgårdens IF8521262018
2. TPS8332232213
3. Brynäs IF8413202413
4. Tappara8323242212
5. HC ČSOB Pojišťovna Pardubice8323222012
6. HC Fribourg-Gottéron8233232411
7. Bílí Tygři Liberec830526279
8. SC Bern821519248
1. JYP8611301919
2. HC Slovan Bratislava8512312516
3. Linköpings HC8512272216
4. HC Sparta Praha8332282114
5. HV718314282511
6. UPC Vienna Capitals822423249
7. KalPa821517287
8. Piráti Chomutov802619394
1. Färjestad BK8701231121
2. Frölunda Indians8512321716
3. Jokerit8413171214
4. Adler Mannheim8332212114
5. ZSC Lions8404211912
6. ERC Ingolstadt8314222510
7. EV Zug 811614305
8. HIFK811616314
ShopEuropean Trophy Online Shop