European Trophy 2013: 32 clubs to compete for the title
2013-02-14 12:00:00

The European Trophy 2013 will once again start in the middle of August and will feature the same 32 teams from 7 different countries as in 2012. With respect to the tight game schedule in the respective national leagues because of the Olympics 2014 in Sochi, the Round Robin 2013 will be played out until the middle of September. The Red Bulls Salute – the final tournament of the European Trophy – will again take place in the middle of December. In total the teams compete for 390.000 Euros in prize money.

“We are very happy that we have the same strong group of teams together again,” says tournament director Bo Lennartsson. “Without a doubt you can consider our competition as the number one tournament in European club ice hockey.”

The European Trophy 2013 will be played with 32 teams in the same four divisions, but the teams will switch their home compared to last season. Therefore the North Division will consist of all European Trophy Champions of the past years with Eisbären Berlin (2010), EC Red Bull Salzburg (2011) and Lulea Hockey (2012) as well as the current Czech Extraleague leader HC Skoda Plzen.

The East Division sees lots of traditional European ice hockey teams with Tappara, Djurgardens IF and HC Pardubice, just to mention a few of them, as well as current Swiss regular season leaders SC Bern and HC Fribourg-Gottéron.

The West Division contains the two big Helsinki rivals Jokerit and HIFK as well as Swedish giant Färjestad BK and Frölunda Indians, German top club Adler Mannheim and Swiss defending Champions ZSC Lions.

In the South division Czech Republic’s most traditional club Sparta Praha will meet Swedish Elitserien leaders HV71, the best current Austrian team UPC Vienna Capitals and also KHL’s HC Slovan Bratislava.

Bo Lennartsson: “Our tournament is not only improving in terms of the level of hockey, marketing and merchandising revenue, we are also building long term relations between the clubs through positive and very interesting exchanges of ideas. We are not only talking within our group but also to lots of other European clubs in different countries. This helps us every day to move forward with the development of European club ice hockey.”

You can view the groups at our Team page


A legacy that will live on
After four years of steady growt and building the brand of clubhockey in Europe, it is time för the European Trophy to take the next step, the Champions Hockey League.
Read more
JYP from Finland hanged on in the Red Bulls Salute final against Swedish opponent Färjestad BK and grabbed the title with a 2-1 win!
Read more
Eisbären defeat Frölunda Indians 4-3
Hosts Eisbären Berlin did not make the Red Bulls Salute final in their home arena, but finished the tournament with a 4-3-win over Frölunda Indians.
Read more
Luleå Hockey defeat Djurgårdens IF 4-2
Luleå Hockey ended their participation in the 2013 Red Bulls Salute with a win, defeating Djurgårdens IF thanks to an efficient power play.
Read more
Färjestad BK defeat Eisbären 4-0
The final in Red Bulls Salute 2013 will have JYP facing last year's runner-up Färjestad BK, after Färjestad defeated host Eisbären Berlin 4-0.
Read more
1. Luleå Hockey8611221419
2. EC Red Bull Salzburg8413262314
3. HC Škoda Plzeň8332171713
4. HC Kometa Brno8233201912
5. Oulun Kärpät8404192112
6. Hamburg Freezers8314282710
7. Eisbären Berlin8314212510
8. Mountfield HK820620276
1. Djurgårdens IF8521262018
2. TPS8332232213
3. Brynäs IF8413202413
4. Tappara8323242212
5. HC ČSOB Pojišťovna Pardubice8323222012
6. HC Fribourg-Gottéron8233232411
7. Bílí Tygři Liberec830526279
8. SC Bern821519248
1. JYP8611301919
2. HC Slovan Bratislava8512312516
3. Linköpings HC8512272216
4. HC Sparta Praha8332282114
5. HV718314282511
6. UPC Vienna Capitals822423249
7. KalPa821517287
8. Piráti Chomutov802619394
1. Färjestad BK8701231121
2. Frölunda Indians8512321716
3. Jokerit8413171214
4. Adler Mannheim8332212114
5. ZSC Lions8404211912
6. ERC Ingolstadt8314222510
7. EV Zug 811614305
8. HIFK811616314
ShopEuropean Trophy Online Shop