European Trophy 2012 starts August 17th
2012-04-12 12:30:00

Not all the seasons are over in ice hockey across Europe and hockey fans already can look forward to new great games in the next season. On August 17th 2012 the new European Trophy starts their games.

For the first time 21 of the 128 matches in European Trophy 2012 will be played during the running seasons of the respective national leagues in all seven countries. In total the 32 participants compete for 360.000 Euros of price money.

“As you can see in the number of games, dates of games and the price money, European Trophy takes the next step. I’m really happy about that and look forward to the first games”, tournament director Bo Lennartsson says.

The final tournament of European Trophy “Red Bulls Salute 2012” will be played in Bratislava and Vienna and leaves Salzburg for the first time. The finals for the Red Bulls Salute Champion 2012 will be played from December 13 to December 16 2012. The four group winners along with the two best second placed teams and the seeded hosts, HC Slovan Bratislava and Vienna Capitals, will qualify.

There will be some really good games taking place in this year’s attempt of all the teams to reach out to the Red Bulls Salute 2012. In Salzburg for example the European Trophy Champions of 2011 and 2010, EC Red Bull Salzburg and Eisbären Berlin will face off on August 24th for a battle of the Champions.

A great game can also be expected in the Helsinki Ice Hall on September 6th 2012, when the Finnish champions of 2011, HIFK hosts the Swedish champion of the same year, Färjestads BK.

October 16th 2012 offers another very interesting showdown. Playoff finalists of Czech Extraliga HC CSOB Pojistovna Pardubice will then meet the finalists of Swiss Nationalliga A, SC Bern.

The back-to-back derby games between UPC Vienna Capitals and HC Slovan Bratislava on the last day of August and the first day of September will again bring lots of emotions into Austria’s and Slovakia’s capitals.

There will be a dozen and more of games like this where Europe’s best hockey clubs meet and compete for the European Trophy Champion 2012. Be prepared for European club ice hockey at its best!

Visit the Schedule page for the complete European Trophy schedule.

A legacy that will live on
After four years of steady growt and building the brand of clubhockey in Europe, it is time för the European Trophy to take the next step, the Champions Hockey League.
Read more
JYP from Finland hanged on in the Red Bulls Salute final against Swedish opponent Färjestad BK and grabbed the title with a 2-1 win!
Read more
Eisbären defeat Frölunda Indians 4-3
Hosts Eisbären Berlin did not make the Red Bulls Salute final in their home arena, but finished the tournament with a 4-3-win over Frölunda Indians.
Read more
Luleå Hockey defeat Djurgårdens IF 4-2
Luleå Hockey ended their participation in the 2013 Red Bulls Salute with a win, defeating Djurgårdens IF thanks to an efficient power play.
Read more
Färjestad BK defeat Eisbären 4-0
The final in Red Bulls Salute 2013 will have JYP facing last year's runner-up Färjestad BK, after Färjestad defeated host Eisbären Berlin 4-0.
Read more
1. Luleå Hockey8611221419
2. EC Red Bull Salzburg8413262314
3. HC Škoda Plzeň8332171713
4. HC Kometa Brno8233201912
5. Oulun Kärpät8404192112
6. Hamburg Freezers8314282710
7. Eisbären Berlin8314212510
8. Mountfield HK820620276
1. Djurgårdens IF8521262018
2. TPS8332232213
3. Brynäs IF8413202413
4. Tappara8323242212
5. HC ČSOB Pojišťovna Pardubice8323222012
6. HC Fribourg-Gottéron8233232411
7. Bílí Tygři Liberec830526279
8. SC Bern821519248
1. JYP8611301919
2. HC Slovan Bratislava8512312516
3. Linköpings HC8512272216
4. HC Sparta Praha8332282114
5. HV718314282511
6. UPC Vienna Capitals822423249
7. KalPa821517287
8. Piráti Chomutov802619394
1. Färjestad BK8701231121
2. Frölunda Indians8512321716
3. Jokerit8413171214
4. Adler Mannheim8332212114
5. ZSC Lions8404211912
6. ERC Ingolstadt8314222510
7. EV Zug 811614305
8. HIFK811616314
ShopEuropean Trophy Online Shop